A Photo’s Worth

They say a picture is worth a thousand words. Sometimes, however, it’s those that leave you speechless that are worth the most.

Zoriah is an award winning and critically acclaimed photojournalist whose photos do just that. They leave me utterly speechless. Check this one out for starters! Zoriah’s most recent escapade in the world of photojournalism deals with child labor (the full blog album can be seen here).

The picture I linked above is jaw dropping. The silhouette of the young boy carrying a sack about the same size as his body leaves me with a tremendous sadness. In my opinion, the boy’s size indicates that he is very young and the size of his load indicates that his work is arduous. A photo like this gives me a feeling of regret. Regret because he has to do this work and I don’t. Regret because of his misfortune and my fortune. This is how I feel with much of Zoriah’s work.

In her CV, Zoriah points out that she has done extensive work depicting disasters. These disaster photos are what inspire me most about Zoriah’s work. One photo in particular really strikes home with me. You can see it here.

This photo was taken shortly after the BP Oil Spill in the Gulf of Mexico. Zoriah labels it as “A display in the yard of a local household in Grand Isle shows crosses with the names of all of the things locals feel that they have lost in the wake of the BP Oil spill.” What spoke to me most about this photo is some of the names on the crosses. They ranged from “shrimp” to “pelicans” to “sand between my toes.” This last one I point out is really what got me. The locals feel as if they lost all sense of their home. Here is where the disaster has really struck. It’s not the loss of animal life or the destruction of the local economy, but the realization that your home has been affected.

Zoriah’s work is inspiring. She is a respected and successful photojournalist who’s work brings light to social problems throughout the world, and for that she should be commended.

Leave a Reply

